Then Comes the Night (private)

Wren took her time closing up the Studio, so long, that Joey arrived just as she was running out of things to pretend to do. With a sad smile, he took her by the shoulders and looked her in the eye.

"I'm no relationship expert, but you should go home to him, Wren. Talk about what happened, work it out, and start moving forward. It's the only way you'll get back to being you. I need you back to being you, Ana needs you back to being you, and you need you back to being you. So go home to him, okay?"

Wren nodded mutely and found herself enveloped in a big bear hug, that stole her air and nearly cracked a rib or two. When Joey finally let her go, she was laughing. She gave him a playful smack on his rock hard peck. "Thanks Joey, you always know how to cheer me up."

Still chuckling, she gathered her things and left the Studio for home, but the closer she got, the more the good humor from Joey dissipated. She had no idea what she was going to say to Drev, or if she even wanted to talk about the whole thing now, or ever again.

Rain began to patter her windshield as she pulled into the small lot behind their building. The rain started coming down in a torrent as she opened the door and pulled her bag out with her. With a girly scream, she dashed to the back entrance and sighed at her dumb luck as she dug for her key card. As usual, Mrs Carmichael was peeking out her door when Wren made it dripping to the bottom of the steps.

"Evening, Mrs. Carmichael."

"Evening Wren." The door shut behind the lonely old woman and Wren was left to climb her soggy way up the stairs alone. She wondered if they had new neighbors in the third floor unit yet, and she hoped they were nice if and when they ever moved in. She came to her own door on the second floor and stood before it for a long long moment, before she slipped the key card into the slot and let herself into the condo.