War!

OK for those of you I remembered to tell I was out of town this weekend. I'm part of the SCA and this weekend I went to Estrella War XXIII. If you're really interested you can check out www.sca.org and www.estrellawar.com This year we had over 6000 people from all over the country together to fight and learn and party.

I had an absolute blast (as always and I've been doing this for *gasp* ten years) and I've even linked some pictures for you

Me just after arriving

The battle field

Part of the period accurate encampment

Some of our equestrians warming up

Amberelle DeEspionne 17 years ago
*squee* How freaking cool!!! I always wanted to go to one of the big wars.. back when I was involved the SCA, when I was a teenager. Makes me all nostalgic for those days. I bet you had a BLAST.
Ellis Duban 17 years ago
So this was one big...larp? I'd actually love to see something like this. Dress up? Not so much, but watch with my popcorn? Hell yeah!
Reign 17 years ago
LOL! i wouldn't recommend popcorn as it was windy and dusty this year but by all means come on out and have a look! You'll have Pennisc out your way in August and some day I'll get out to that war.

It was a great time I spent too much money in merchants row, flirted with some hot fighters, went to some good parties and froze to death when I finally did go to bed. Its so much fun.
*gasp* You don't know what the SCA is???? I guess a LARP (live action role play) is a decent way to describe it.. but it's just so much more, and FUN.

Watching the tournament fights or socializing.. And there's usually vendors and crafts and feasts and bards and drunken wandering from camp fire to camp fire (ok i never got drunk drunk I was 17.. but heh yeah..)

i'm sad now, I miss events. but i'm too squeemish about bugs and snakes and stuff nowdays to go camping like that anymore =/
Ellis Duban 17 years ago
It sounds like the Highland games or a ren fair, right?
Reign 17 years ago